Skip to content

My Bread, can be yours too!

October 20, 2009

This weekend I brought home a new book titled; My Bread, the revolutionary no work, no knead method, by Jim Lahey.

I have been searching in vain for the perfect bread recipe since I moved back to the States in 1989 with my German husband.  My husband loves America but hasn’t been too thrilled with the “wonder” breads of my homeland.  I have tried countless recipes and bread machines without the desired results until I tried the Jim Lahey no work, no knead method.  It worked like a dream on the very first attempt.  The bread is just like a typical German “Bauern Brot “and it is so simple, anyone can do it.  There truly is no work to Jim’s method.  I tried some of the pizza recipes and they too were terrific.  I wish I could keep the book for another 2 weeks but it is on hold for another patron.  I will have to share it.  You should get on the hold list too if you are a seeker of the perfect European breads with a crust to die for.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 21, 2009 2:40 pm

    All my life my efforts at making bread or rolls have yielded bricks and/or hockey pucks. I am definitely yeast challeged. If you can spend twenty years searching for this recipe, the least I can do is try one more time. I’ve put the book on hold and will owe you a lot of “dough” if my attempt is “perfect European bread with a crust to die for”!

Leave a comment