Skip to content

Never have an overdue again

July 31, 2013

I’ve found that the older I get, the harder it is to stay on top of things.  I forget things and lose focus more easily.   They tell me it’s a natural sign of aging.  (I don’t remember who told me, but it was MORE than one person.)  Anyway, back to the story.  (See what I mean?)  On Monday, I wore mismatched shoes to work.  I am not kidding you.  In my defense, both were black and had the same heel height.  I was shocked when I got home from work and discovered my fashion faux pas.

So you can see, I need help.  Superior organization and simplification are high on my bucket list.  In the meantime, I use tools to help me manage.  For example, I now use an integrated email and calendar system that helps remind me of meetings.  There are actually quite a few ways technology has improved my ability to stay on top of my life.  I use an online password registration site, a cooking app, a file sharing site, and a committee meeting scheduler.  When I travel, I can remember where it is I wanted to go by using one of several excellent trip apps.  (You can click on any of the words in bold to see the particular software.)

So you can see–I think tools really help manage life. And maybe that’s why I’m always looking for ways to help people manage their library accounts.   In short, I feel the pain.  I can report that ever since I signed up for our library’s email and text notifications, I am much better about getting my library materials back on time.  Sometimes I’m even early because I get notices IN ADVANCE of the due date.  It’s a bit like having your mother remind you–but with no guilt attached!

Our webmaster, Jeff Margeneau of Design Solutions, just added a form to our website that allows you to sign up for notifications.  You can find it by clicking here.shoe

I can’t actually guarantee that you’ll never have an overdue again.  But these notifications help you manage your life so it certainly improves your chances!    I haven’t heard of any software tools that help with shoe selection.  Even Google can’t help with that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

