Skip to content

Cooking for 2

October 4, 2013
Photo #431 - Crockpot

Photo #431 – Crockpot (Photo credit: Tammra McCauley)

When my kids were in grade school, college seemed so far away. I remember dreaming of days when the laundry hamper wasn’t always overflowing and the question, “Is there anything good to eat?” was asked a little less often. Now don’t get me wrong, I have always enjoyed being a mom and doing things for my family. However, I did remember a time in my life when I had a little more free time and thought wouldn’t that be nice again someday. Well someday is here.

When my youngest child went off to college in August, I have to say it was a transition that took some getting used to. I have always enjoyed coming home after work to see the rest of my family and catch up on our day during dinner. Many times, especially in the last four years, that dinner has been from the crockpot after basketball and baseball games. My collection of recipes had grown over the years to include many crockpot recipes that fed the family. Several of these recipes came from great cookbooks at the library.

When I was faced with the challenge of changing my cooking from “family sized” to “just for 2,” I again went looking at the library. I knew I could find great recipes on the internet but paging through cookbooks is much more appealing to me. I realized that there were lots of great sandwich recipes that worked well for 2. I started with what I found at the Fort Atkinson library and then placed some holds for books from other libraries. What I discovered was a variety of sandwiches including panini and wrap recipes.   To date my favorites have come from the book, Taste of Home Sandwiches, Wraps and More! I made a seafood salad recipe that was delicious and BBQ chicken quesadillas with a fantastic mango salsa.

I will continue to add to my “cooking for 2” recipe collection so let me know if you have another good cookbook to suggest. I will also look forward to having the whole family home for a big Thanksgiving dinner this year. Since I always like to try something new, I am sure I will be browsing the shelves for something fun and delicious to add to that dinner.

Quesadilla

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

