Skip to content

Playaway

April 19, 2013
Playaway solid-state audiobook device

Playaway solid-state audiobook device (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The library recently added a new collection that I think is very exciting.  Thanks to a donation from the Friends of the Library we now have audiobooks on Playaway.  If you’re not sure what a Playaway is, let me fill you in.  Each one contains an entire recorded book that you can listen to by attaching a set of earbuds or speakers.  The device is about the same size as a MP3 player and comes with directions on how to operate so it is really easy to use. I love to listen to them when I walk, work in the yard and even when I clean the house.  They are great because you never have to stop to change the CD.  Also when you turn the device off it holds your place.  The next time you turn the Playaway on it continues where you left off.  If you are interested in trying this new format, just ask about them when you are at the library.  There are titles available for kids, young adults and adults.  If you like to listen to audiobooks in your car, also ask about how you can listen to Playaways through your car stereo.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 19, 2013 4:18 pm

    I love Playaways! I checked out a bunch and took them on a long car ride to Florida recently. Unfortunately, I was in such a hurry to leave (it was really cold in Wisconsin) that I forgot to unlock the outer security cases. That meant I had 3 great books to listen to and no way to get them out of their cases. I groused about it for hundreds (well, maybe a thousand) miles and decided to try to get the case open by stopping at a library in Florida. Thanks to the kind Pensacola Public Library staff I was able to unlock my Playaway and listen happily all the way home. By the way, the Pensacola Public Library is new and absolutely gorgeous! (There are several morals to this story. But the most important one is that libraries will *always* help you make lemonade out of lemons!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 501 other followers

